Who is eligible for the NDIS ?

marrickville-9323To receive funding through the NDIS, clients must meet the eligibility requirements. These are summarised below:

Location – participants must have been living in an area where the scheme is currently operating, on 1 July 2016 or on the day it was launched in the trial zones as per the below:

2013 – Tasmania for young people aged 15 – 24
2013 – South Australia for children aged six and under
2013 – Barwon (Victoria)
2013 – Hunter (New South Wales) for people up to the age of 65
2014 – ACT
2014 – Barky (Northern Territory)
2014 – Penrith Hills (Western Australia)
2015 – Nepean, Blue Mountains (New South Wales)
2015 – Townsville, Charters, Towers and Palm Island (Queensland)

Age – participants must be under 65 when they apply
Citizenship and residency – participants must be Australian citizens, permanent residents or New Zealand residents with a Protected Special Category Visa
Disability requirements – participants can receive individual support if they have a permanent disability that significantly affects how they communicate, move, care for themselves, or manage their lives
Early intervention requirements – children may be able to receive individual support if there is strong evidence that early intervention would considerably improve functioning, or reduce a decline in functioning.

Sunnyfield is here to assist with any questions clients, families and carers have. For a full copy of the eligibility requirements, visit the NDIS website.